Charging terms and conditions
In this article
Product Reviews by Appio app is hosted on Shopify app store and offering a Free Plan, you will be able to install it from the Shopify app store and continue to use it within the Free Plan limits without any cost. In case you want to upgrade to a paid subscription, the app will direct you to Shopify payment gateway where you will be presented with a consent page with the following information:
- The amount of money you will pay every billing cycles (30-day). Please refer to the Pricing page
- Number of trial days (if any). If the upgrade is entitled to trial days, you will only be charged if the subscription is still active (by not uninstalling the app or downgrading to the Free Plan) after the trial days have ended.
- Only when you have accepted, the subscription become active and you shall be charge accordingly to the app billing cycles.
App billing cycles
Once you are on a paid plan, you are billed on a 30-day billing cycle. This billing cycle is charged for at the same time as when you accept to activate subscription or when the trial days have ended (if any).
Recurring app charges
Recurring app charges are billed with the next Shopify 30-day invoice. In Shopify invoice there will be a separate line for the charge of the app. You will pay for the invoice using the payment methods that you have registered with Shopify when you opened the store.
In the example below, the bill on May 5 includes the app subscription that overlaps from April 20-May 20. The bill on June 4th similarly includes the app subscription from May 20-June 19 (since May has 31 days).
If you stop paying your bills, or close your store, then Shopify freezes your account and your recurring app charges. If you start your payments again, or re-open your store within 30 days, Shopify unfreezes your account and your recurring app charges resume.
Uninstalling apps with recurring charges
Make sure that you consider app billing cycles when you plan to uninstall the app. Recurring app charges are generated the first time an app charge is approved, and then on the first day of an app's billing cycle. Because of this, a charge will appear on your bill even if you uninstall an app only a day or two after you install it.
App prorating, upgrades, and downgrades
If you upgrade or downgrade your subscription with the app, then the app will prompt you to agree to a new recurring app charge. This is because Shopify allows each app only one recurring app charge to be enabled at a time. The existing recurring application charge will be canceled and replaced by the new charge.
When you upgrade your plan by moving from a less expensive charge to a more expensive charge, the charge is prorated based on the difference in price and the number of days remaining in the billing cycle. For example, if you begin a 30-day billing cycle on a $5.00 plan, and then upgrade to a $15.00 plan on day 15 of the billing cycle, you’d be charged $5.00 + ($15.00 – $5.00) * (15/30) = $10.00 USD.
If you downgrade your plan by moving from a more expensive charge to a less expensive charge, then you’re automatically offered an application credit based on the difference in price and the number of days remaining in the billing cycle. This application credit can be used towards any future application purchase on Shopify.